Skip to content

Oops! I did it again…I bought more yarns

August 11, 2012

I went on a rampage this week and telling the amount of money I spent would be shameful because for the past 5 months I have been unemployed. From what I can see I am in deep trouble because I found Ali Baba’s caversn and it is full of yarns. I also made a killing on Amazon by purchasing 6 books (still waiting for the last one)

It was not a good morning in NYC yesterday. It was raining cat and dogs but I was determined to visit those 6 yarns stores that are supposedly the best. I was not disappointed but my credit card cried for help. In the end I visited 3 (plus unplanned stops to Goodwill and beads store in the fashion district). A little insight of my visits (and my crazy list):

The Yarn Co is located on W 79th st in Manhattan. I think I had an orgasm when I entered. The space was small but full of beautiful good quality yarns. The store even has custom made yarns available at their store only and the woman who welcomed me was extremely helpful giving me suggestions and showing fancy yarns. The yarns are pricey but for the quality you are getting I say go for it.

Knitty City was just a few blocks up on W 82nd street and Broadway. There also I was amazed by the number of yarns they had. A bit more pricey than the Yarn Co but the ladies there are the nicest people ever.

When I entered School Product Yarn “the oldest Yarn shop of NYC” I thought I heard crickets. The place was extremely quiet and looked a bit empty for such a big place. The owner was also over the phone speaking in a eastern European language over problems with Quickbooks. So I was strolling alone most of the time I spent there. This place had quality affordable yarns and I wish I spoke more with the owner who offered her help in the end. I didn’t take any pictures but bought some very nice yarns there

I also stopped on my way home to get some pictures of Grand Central terminal on 42nd street. People always think things around them will last forever. I never thought the Cathedral of Port-au-Prince would not exist anymore. That is what happened after the earthquake in Haiti. Now I take picture compulsively. You never know…

So in the end the damages were the following

And also these from Amazon:

Of course you can’t forget personal beauty. I used those two products on my last trip to France and fell deeply in love. I could not resist to purchase them

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2012 8:47 pm

    Sometimes we just need to treat ourselves to remind us everything will be okay. I’m envious of those yarns stores! I would have just sat, stared and stroked the beautiful yarn for hours!

    • August 12, 2012 9:41 am

      I left my house at 11am and did not get back until 7pm. I didn’t see the time go!

  2. August 12, 2012 4:08 am

    Fantastic shopping trip looks like you got some beautiful yarn. Spoiling yourself with a little yarn and inspirational books is ideal for keeping up the spirits🙂

    • August 12, 2012 9:43 am

      I should probably slow down on the buying but like you say it always lift up my spirit

  3. Tina permalink
    August 30, 2012 2:48 pm

    These yarns look great! I almost feel compelled to take up crochet again

    • August 30, 2012 5:50 pm

      You should! It’s one of the most rewarding things ever and I never thought there was so many choices of yarns! it’s incredible! wait until you see all the stuff that can be created.

  4. September 29, 2012 9:57 am

    You really make me want to go back to crochet lol

Leave a Reply

Opinions de Femmes

A ''Lakou'' for Haitian Women.

Country. People. Culture

Focus On Haiti Initiative

Reflections and Analysis on Haiti at the Institute for Global and International Studies

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

The Green Mango Blog

Thoughts from Haiti about our world and how we live in it from an unripe fruit.

walking our boundaries

thoughts from the yellow peril that could

A warm cosy blog, for everyone that loves nature, yarn, teadrinking and trekking in the forest

KITTENHOOD

a fashion blogger taming cats in Berlin

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Who's Scared Of A Goat's Head?

A blog about regular food and the other stuff people won't eat

Keep Calm and Eat On

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. ~ Virginia Woolf

Knitted Notes

knitting and blogging in Italy in times of economic crisis

The Sweaty Knitter, Weaver and Devotee of Other Fiber Arts

Interweaving life with fiber arts! (Photograph by Carly Moskat.)

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

A visual diary on fashion, photography, interiors, lifestyle, travel, styling and our daily adventures x

ThreadBEAR

Handmade Clothing and Accessories

Haiti's Favorite Blog

Finding Paola

A girl from a small town in Haiti, living her dreams in New York City

KNITS FOR LIFE

Lorna and Jill Watt.

Tifoli

Knit. Eat. Travel.

Mémé attaque Haïti

Allez la Mémé! À l'attaque!!!

Catherine G. Vilbrun

Capturing Life With The Immortality Of Words

Lemons and Anchovies

...celebrating simple food

www.culture509.com

La Référence culturelle d'Haïti

TwoGoodEggs

A Breakfast Blog

Crearescreer's Weblog

if you create then you believe

Le corps des femmes

Un blog participatif où les femmes racontent leurs corps

Phoodology

Food and its magical ways...

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

