Skip to content

Keep knitting

August 28, 2012

I have been putting my ideas in order and preparing for graduate school (yeah!).  Found out the university didn’t have a craft club. The Horror! During our new student retreat this past weekend I motivated some people and already got the support of about 5 students and spoke to the president of student associations. I’d be happy even with an informal group. Crossing my fingers…

I also went camping last week in Rhode Island and did some island hopping to Newport and Block Island. I saw this bird in Newport and thought the color combination and design could look good as a scarf. I can sense that I am going to buy more yarns in the upcoming weeks.

I haven’t put my needles down. I actually knitted my first shirt. Well, it was a basic shirt but the point is besides some touch-ups I actually finished it.

I also started to crochet a rug I think I want it twice as big.

Found these gathering dust all around the house: unfinished little pouches, squares and other mystery projects

Of course I could not resist to buy yarns on sale from School Products Yarns in Manhattan. They are moving and were selling past knitting/crochet magazine for $1 and tons of discounted yarns. I had to buy them.

And bought this wonderful black silk and linen Berroco yarn at the fashionable Loopy Mango

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 9:12 pm

    Haven’t been to RI in years. Thanks for sharing the pics. Great yarn buys, by the way. I would not have been able to resist the sale either.

    • August 28, 2012 9:40 pm

      I really loved the feel of the area. I took tons of pictures. I think I am going add a few more photos for you to see🙂

      • August 29, 2012 9:04 pm

        Great! I’ll look for them.

      • August 29, 2012 9:07 pm

        Love the one of the narrow path or alley with the bright red doors. The yellow house is sooooo RI. Thanks for adding!

  2. August 30, 2012 4:33 pm

    your help on this post is highly appreciated. http://stepsbyn.wordpress.com/2012/08/30/pricing-any-expert-help/

  3. September 3, 2012 10:28 am

    Niiiice shirt!

Leave a Reply

Opinions de Femmes

A ''Lakou'' for Haitian Women.

Country. People. Culture

Focus On Haiti Initiative

Reflections and Analysis on Haiti at the Institute for Global and International Studies

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

The Green Mango Blog

Thoughts from Haiti about our world and how we live in it from an unripe fruit.

walking our boundaries

thoughts from the yellow peril that could

A warm cosy blog, for everyone that loves nature, yarn, teadrinking and trekking in the forest

KITTENHOOD

a fashion blogger taming cats in Berlin

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Who's Scared Of A Goat's Head?

A blog about regular food and the other stuff people won't eat

Keep Calm and Eat On

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. ~ Virginia Woolf

Knitted Notes

knitting and blogging in Italy in times of economic crisis

The Sweaty Knitter, Weaver and Devotee of Other Fiber Arts

Interweaving life with fiber arts! (Photograph by Carly Moskat.)

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

A visual diary on fashion, photography, interiors, lifestyle, travel, styling and our daily adventures x

ThreadBEAR

Handmade Clothing and Accessories

Haiti's Favorite Blog

Finding Paola

A girl from a small town in Haiti, living her dreams in New York City

KNITS FOR LIFE

Lorna and Jill Watt.

Tifoli

Knit. Eat. Travel.

Mémé attaque Haïti

Allez la Mémé! À l'attaque!!!

Catherine G. Vilbrun

Capturing Life With The Immortality Of Words

Lemons and Anchovies

...celebrating simple food

www.culture509.com

La Référence culturelle d'Haïti

TwoGoodEggs

A Breakfast Blog

Crearescreer's Weblog

if you create then you believe

Le corps des femmes

Un blog participatif où les femmes racontent leurs corps

Phoodology

Food and its magical ways...

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

