Skip to content

Oh, Belle France!

September 12, 2012

This year, after coming back from working 2 years in Haiti I decided to go to France. Two friends of mine invited me to spend their vacation with them in their respective town: Albi and Florensac for a month. Beautiful South of France for a month and the only thing I needed was my plane ticket. Who in their right mind would let that go? I was freshly unemployed so I had time but with a balance of $3000 in the bank (-$1200 for my ticket) I had a few doubts. What the hell! Just do it, I thought, you’ll always get the chance to make more money. So I did take that trip last June and God knows I did not regret it.

I will spare you the details of my painful visa process at the Belgian embassy (and why in the first place I went to the Belgian embassy since I was going to France) . Long story. I took a leap of faith and bought my ticket without a Schengen visa. I finally got approved 4 days before my departure.

FIRST STOP: ALBI  UNESCO World Heritage Site and birthplace of my favorite painter Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec. According to my friend, lots of his works are still in Albi because the Louvre refused to take them after his death (he donated them!). Monsieur was very fond of prostitutes and depicted them in most of his work.

View of Albi on top of the Toulouse-Lautrec Museum (Palais de la Berbie) one of the oldest castle in France.

The Tarn River cross by the Pont Vieux and the Pont Neuf

We stopped by this little convent. Peaceful, beautiful.

French breakfasts are dreadful. after two weeks of that only in the morning I was just craving a good omelette and sausages

SECOND STOP: PARIS     This was not my first time in Paris but I have nothing left of that trip besides memories. My camera (yes I never used backup then) is swimming with fishes in the waters near the coast of Tortuga Island Haiti. My friend and I decided to stop shortly in Paris. No trip to France is complete without going to Paris. And it was SALE season!

Views from the two apartments I stayed in Paris

Sometimes I do miss being able to have my bottle of wine with me and share it with friends on a Friday night out

And chats with friends near the Canal Saint Martin

Passerelle des Arts where people about to get married come, seal their love and thrown away the keys in the river. Romantic but I can’t help imagine the amount of keys at the bottom of this river.

THIRD STOP: FLORENSAC, BEZIERS, CAP D’AGDE Just magical. The food, the people, the lifestyle. oh, I melt! I also assisted to my first French wedding. I was not desappointed. I was too busy having lots of fun so I didn’t take any picture.

My room

AND FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON Totally unplanned but wonderful town. Every year in July, the city of Avignon host a big festival and it is one of the best in the world. A friend of the family kindly let us stay at his appartment in the center of Avignon for 3 days. We were given a book as thick as a Microeconomics book with 100s of shows for about 3 weeks. The town is swallowed by tons of posters and people trying to get you to see their show. Really if you get the chance to be in France in July don’t miss this Festival.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 2:00 am

    What a beauty. I Love and envy your trip

    • September 14, 2012 2:41 pm

      If you get the chance to go in the South of France do not hesitate🙂 !

      • September 14, 2012 11:46 pm

        I had the chance for a free trip to Toulousse via the Lonely Planet photo competition. And France, t’was just 200 photographers away from me..tsk

  2. September 17, 2012 9:43 am

    I love this post! I’ve been to Paris, Nice, Dijon, and some little towns in between. I would return to south of France in a heartbeat! Lovely pictures!

Leave a Reply

Opinions de Femmes

A ''Lakou'' for Haitian Women.

Country. People. Culture

Focus On Haiti Initiative

Reflections and Analysis on Haiti at the Institute for Global and International Studies

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

The Green Mango Blog

Thoughts from Haiti about our world and how we live in it from an unripe fruit.

walking our boundaries

thoughts from the yellow peril that could

A warm cosy blog, for everyone that loves nature, yarn, teadrinking and trekking in the forest

KITTENHOOD

a fashion blogger taming cats in Berlin

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Who's Scared Of A Goat's Head?

A blog about regular food and the other stuff people won't eat

Keep Calm and Eat On

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. ~ Virginia Woolf

Knitted Notes

knitting and blogging in Italy in times of economic crisis

The Sweaty Knitter, Weaver and Devotee of Other Fiber Arts

Interweaving life with fiber arts! (Photograph by Carly Moskat.)

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

A visual diary on fashion, photography, interiors, lifestyle, travel, styling and our daily adventures x

ThreadBEAR

Handmade Clothing and Accessories

Haiti's Favorite Blog

Finding Paola

A girl from a small town in Haiti, living her dreams in New York City

KNITS FOR LIFE

Lorna and Jill Watt.

Tifoli

Knit. Eat. Travel.

Mémé attaque Haïti

Allez la Mémé! À l'attaque!!!

Catherine G. Vilbrun

Capturing Life With The Immortality Of Words

Lemons and Anchovies

...celebrating simple food

www.culture509.com

La Référence culturelle d'Haïti

TwoGoodEggs

A Breakfast Blog

Crearescreer's Weblog

if you create then you believe

Le corps des femmes

Un blog participatif où les femmes racontent leurs corps

Phoodology

Food and its magical ways...

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

