Skip to content

in Pictures: Haiti in Black and White

September 19, 2012

My life in Haiti before I moved to the United States, was not the best. I was young, I wanted to do things but could barely go beyond the limits of my neighborhood. Even the neighborhood was sometimes off limits for me. I was a girl and the streets were full of boys with bad intentions, my mom would say. And being her only child I think maybe she was scared that she would lose me.

I took revenge when I got back in Haiti in 2010. I had a job and quickly moved to my own apartment before I could hear any objections to me living alone. I decided to fully experience Haiti. I had to lie to my mother a few times about my whereabouts because I had no time for altercations. Yes, no matter how old you are sometimes you have to still lie to your parents.

This picture is one of my favorite because it never fails to bring back the memories of my time in Haiti. We were on our way to the hills of Furcy on a picnic trip. I can still smell the pine trees and wet soil by just looking at it.

In one of the place we when in Furcy we saw these little cabins made completely out of wood. I wonder if they were recycled.  all the windows were made out of empty bottles of wine and rum Barbancourt (the best rum in the world by the way). I thought it was beautifully made.

This is one of the roads to Bassin Bleu a small watererfall in Jacmel. We took an alternate route through the bushes. It was steep! The entire time I was just so worried about rolling down the hill.

On friendlier flatter ground toward our destination to Bassin Bleu

Hotel Florita in Jacmel. Very old and beautiful.

Street view Jacmel

I took a picture of these children off a small island around Ile a Vache in the South. This island had no drinking water, not even one toilet on site, no school. NOTHING. It was an extremely sad situation becuase tons of children lived on that island with their family (about 1000 families). Children love to show off when they get the occasion so i let them show off and this came out.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2012 7:55 am

    Very nice picture. You make me want to go back to Haiti…Never got the chance to visit Ile a Vache. I’ll be back ahahaha

    • September 21, 2012 6:57 pm

      It is so beautiful there. You have to go back of course!

  2. September 20, 2012 8:28 am

    awesome photos and writeup!

  3. September 26, 2012 12:34 pm

    I love this! I’m totally going soon. When exactly? No idea, but I’m going!

  4. September 29, 2012 9:45 am

    No matter how upside down Haiti gets It always strikes a tender feeling in my heart. Pictures and write up express such genuineness ! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Opinions de Femmes

A ''Lakou'' for Haitian Women.

Country. People. Culture

Focus On Haiti Initiative

Reflections and Analysis on Haiti at the Institute for Global and International Studies

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

The Green Mango Blog

Thoughts from Haiti about our world and how we live in it from an unripe fruit.

walking our boundaries

thoughts from the yellow peril that could

A warm cosy blog, for everyone that loves nature, yarn, teadrinking and trekking in the forest

KITTENHOOD

a fashion blogger taming cats in Berlin

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Who's Scared Of A Goat's Head?

A blog about regular food and the other stuff people won't eat

Keep Calm and Eat On

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. ~ Virginia Woolf

Knitted Notes

knitting and blogging in Italy in times of economic crisis

The Sweaty Knitter, Weaver and Devotee of Other Fiber Arts

Interweaving life with fiber arts! (Photograph by Carly Moskat.)

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

Kitties + Couture

A San Francisco Fashion Blog

A visual diary on fashion, photography, interiors, lifestyle, travel, styling and our daily adventures x

ThreadBEAR

Handmade Clothing and Accessories

Haiti's Favorite Blog

Finding Paola

A girl from a small town in Haiti, living her dreams in New York City

KNITS FOR LIFE

Lorna and Jill Watt.

Tifoli

Knit. Eat. Travel.

Mémé attaque Haïti

Allez la Mémé! À l'attaque!!!

Catherine G. Vilbrun

Capturing Life With The Immortality Of Words

Lemons and Anchovies

...celebrating simple food

www.culture509.com

La Référence culturelle d'Haïti

TwoGoodEggs

A Breakfast Blog

Crearescreer's Weblog

if you create then you believe

Le corps des femmes

Un blog participatif où les femmes racontent leurs corps

Phoodology

Food and its magical ways...

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

